Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Draws for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers released

The draws for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers was completed recently in Cairo, at the headquarters of the Confederation of African Football CAF.
Defending champions and World Cup bound Super Eagles of Nigeria are in the same group as South Africa who hosted  the last edition of the tournament .
The draw for the 2015 AFCON qualifiers took place on Sunday and will see Tunisia and Egypt face each other, Ghana will meet Togo while Ivory Coast will face Cameroon in the same group.

Three teams were drawn in each group at Sunday's ceremony. A fourth team will emerge from two more qualifying rounds.
Eventually, the group winners and runners-up will go through to the 2015 finals, as will the best third-placed side and the hosts Morocco.

15: 30 The Draw:
Group A:{Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan, Winner of Match 37/38}
Group B:Mali, Algeria, Ethiopia, Winner of Match 43/44}
Group C:{Burkina Faso, Angola, Gabon, Winner of Match 33/34}
Group D:{vory Coast, Cameroon, DR Congo, Winner Match 41/42}
Group E:{Ghana, Togo, Guinea, Winner Match 35/36}
Group F:{Zambia, Cape Verde, Niger, Winner Match 45/46}
Group G:{Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Winner Match 39/40}
The matches will be played in a two-legged, the first
These are all two-legged qualifiers, with the team named first hosting the opening leg on the weekend of 16-18 May. The return leg will be played on the weekend of 30-31 May and 1 June. The aggregate winners advance to the second round:
First leg
.Liberia v Lesotho
  • Kenya v Comoros Islands
  • Madagascar v Uganda
  • Mauritania v Equatorial Guinea
  • Namibia v Congo
  • Libya v Rwanda
  • Burundi v Botswana
  • Central African Republic v Guinea Bissau
  • Swaziland v Sierra Leone
  • Gambia v Seychelles
  • Sao Tome e Principe v Benin
  • Malawi v Chad
  • Tanzania v Zimbabwe
  • Mozambique v South Sudan
Second round:
  • Liberia or Lesotho v Kenya or Comoros Islands
  • Madagascar or Uganda v Mauritania or Equatorial Guinea
  • Namibia or Congo v Libya or Rwanda
  • Burundi or Botswana v Central African Republic or Guinea Bissau
  • Swaziland or Sierra Leone v Gambia or Seychelles
  • Sao Tome e Principe or Benin v Malawi or Chad
  • Tanzania or Zimbabwe v Mozambique or South Sudan

The return leg will be played on the weekend of 1-3 August. The aggregate winners advance to the group stage.