Thursday, November 21, 2013

So, who’s going to Brazil 2014?

Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria
After respectively eliminating Egypt and Burkina Faso, the Black Stars of Ghana and Fennec Foxes of Algeria joined the West African trio of Nigeria, Cameroon and Côte d’Ivoire, who already made sure of their tickets for Brazil on the weekend. All five countries also represented their continent at the last finals in South Africa.
Asia: Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea
Europe: Belgium, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherands, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland, Spain
North & Central America & Caribbean: Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and United States
South America: Argentina, Brazil (hosts), Colombia, Ecuador, Chile
 With Brazil automatically qualified as hosts, Columbia, Ecuador, and Chile fought among nine member countries to claim their spot at the World Cup tournament next year.
Oceania: New Zealand won the qualifications in Oceania and played against Mexico in an intercontinental play-off, they however lost their intercontinental play-off to Mexico 9-3 on aggregate