Saturday, December 7, 2013

Nigerians dominate CAF’s shortlist of players for the 2013 player of the year award

Four Nigerian players were named in this year’s Confederation of African Football (CAF)10-man-list for the 2013 African footballer of the year. CAF released the shortlists for the 2013 African Player of the Year with Mikel Obi, Emmanuel Emenike, Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa making the cut in the ten-man list that has reigning Africa’s best player Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire.

25 players from across Africa were initially nominated for the award which was eventually reduced to 10 players through voting from members of the Technical & Development and the Media Committees.
The Head Coaches of the National Associations affiliated to CAF will vote in their order of preference to decide on the eventual winners of the two categories.

This year's winners will be announced at the GLO-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.


1 Ahmed Musa CSKA Moscow, Nigeria
2 Yaya Toure Manchester City, Cote d’Ivoire
3 John Obi Mikel Chelsea, Nigeria
4 Jonathan Pitroipa Stade Rennes, Burkina Faso
5 Emmanuel Emenike Fernabahce, Nigeria
6 Didier Drogba Galatasaray, Wigan Cote d’Ivoire
7 Asamoah Gyan, Al Ain, Ghana
8 Mohamed Aboutreika Al Ahly, Egypt
9 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Borussia Dortmund, Gabon
10 Vincent Enyeama Lille, Nigeria