Tuesday, December 10, 2013

FIFA reveals the three-man shortlist for the 2013 Ballon d'Or

Nominees for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 awards revealed
FIFA has revealed the 3-man shortlist for this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the best player of 2013 along with FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2013 award. Lionel Messi (Argentina) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) and Franck Ribéry (France) will fight it out for the title of the world's best player. For the women, Nadine Angerer (Germany), Marta (Brazil) and Abby Wambach (USA) will contest the women’s award.

The two obvious main contenders Messi and Cristiano who seem to trail one another in achievement have continued to have to showcase their talents endlessly.

Messi has won the award in each of the last four years; the 26-year-old striker has continued to be prolific since being awarded the 2012 prize, leading Barcelona to another La Liga title with 45 goals and Argentina to a place at Brazil 2014.  

Ronaldo won the award in 2008 and has since been repeatedly placed second, this year; after scoring 34 league goals for Real Madrid last season and guiding Portugal to World Cup qualification this could be the year for Ronaldo.

Ribéry has had a sparkling year for the treble-winners Bayern Munich, French player has had a good year in which he helped his side win the Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup. Ribery is currently UEFA’s best player in Europe for the 2012-2013 seasons.

FIFA also announced the nominees for the World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football and FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football awards
The Nominees are (in alphabetical order): Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC former coach), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München former coach) and Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund) for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award, and Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg), Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team) and Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team) for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award.

The voting procedure for each of the awards is supervised and monitored by the independent observer PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Switzerland. The awards will be presented at the FIFA Ballon d’Or award ceremony at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on 13 January 2014.