Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Super Eagles: Keshi’s 23-man squad for Nations Cup

Bright Dike and Brown Ideye were left out the final 23-man squad that will represent Nigeria at this month’s Africa Cup of Nations late Tuesday evening, while Kenneth Omeruo made the cut. Both Ideye and Dike contributed immensely in the warm-up friendlies as they found the back of the net against Venezuela and Catalonia respectively.
Although the official list is yet to be released, this is what the final list for Nigeria’s Super Eagle will look like:
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers)
Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (FC Braga/POR), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC/ISR), Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce/TUR), Efe Ambrose (Celtic/SCO),  Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag/NED), Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars)
Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea/ENG), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis/SPA), Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio/ITA), Raheem Lawal (Adana Demirspor/TUR), Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova/ITA), Fegor Ogude
(Valerenga/NOR), Gabriel Reuben (Kano Pillars)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow/RUS), Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow/RUS), Victor Moses (Chelsea/ENG), Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal/SPA), Ejike Uzoenyi, Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers)

Bright Dike's goal in Eagles friendly against Catalonia